Pantera – Vulgar Display of Power

Vulgar Display of Power is the sixth studio album by American heavy metal band Pantera, released on February 25, 1992 through Atco Records. It is one of the most influential metal albums of the 1990s, Vulgar Display of Power has been described as “one of the defining albums of the groove-metal genre”.

Undoubtedly this should be amongst everyone’s list of ‘Top Metal Albums’ of all time. Vulgar Display of Power is a further development in aggression & brutality that was created from the bands debut ‘Cowboys From Hell’. Sonically, the wailing of Dimebag Darrel’s guitar work is the soul of Pantera with Rex and Vinnie Paul syncing up to create an overwhelmingly aggressive sound. Phil Anselmo’s rage is ingrained with lyrics focusing on self determination, power & strength which culminate in the band delivering one of the angriest albums in history. ‘Walk’ could be considered Pantera’s anthem track for the album with possibly one of Dimebag’s most astounding solos. Conveniently, the song ‘A New Level’ expresses the exact mentality behind this album, “a new level of confidence & power” indeed. It would be sacrilegious not to mention ‘Mouth For War’ & ‘Fucking Hostile’ which deliver some of Pantera’s trademark riffs and lyrical conveyance. ‘This Love’ & ‘Hollow’ have a clean and melodic execution, dripping with dark ambiance which adds further variety and tracks such as ‘No Good (Attack the Radical) & ‘Rise’ are just bad-ass.

If you have never listened to this album before then I highly suggest delving in deep, cranking your stereo, take out a bottle of whiskey and prepare yourself for the onslaught.

Highlights: A New Level, Walk, No Good (Attack The Radical), Rise


1.  Mouth For War
2.  A New Level
3.  Walk
4.  Fucking Hostile
5.  This Love
6.  Rise
7.  No Good (Attack The Radical)
8.  Live In A Hole
9.  Regular People (Conceit)
10. By Demons Be Driven
11. Hollow

Listen to this album on Spotify:

Groove Metal Raw & aggressive, a vulgar display of power!